Stewardship. Buyer’s remorse. Stupidity.

Just because a “famous” person tweets their fave lipstick doesn’t mean I have to buy it!


I did.

I walked in to Sephora, tried the lip color, loved the lip color, and bought it.

The minute I walked out of the store I had buyer’s remorse.  Nobody needs to pay $30 for a lipstick?!?!?  It is a really nice one and feels good but still, that’s ridiculous.

One of my first thoughts was, “This feels a lot like my Revlon lipstick.”  Um, yep.


With a coupon and a sale, you can grab one of those babies for about $4.  They are sheer and creamy.

On Sunday, I noticed that the pricey lip color bleeds a lot.  Of course, my aging lips lend themselves to bleeding lip color but I have high expectations for a $30 lipstick.

This is after a few hours:

This is freshly applied:

Yes, the color stays well but it bleeds and fades.

I kind of have a lot of lip sticks/glosses/products.  Another fave has a similar feel.  Tarte brand has great lip products too.  They are a bit pricier than drugstore but much less than YSL.  (What was I thinking?!?!!)

The only issue?  They all “go pink” on me.  One of these things is not like the other….. Yep, that color came from that stick.

All this to say, I’m thankful Sephora takes returns and thankful I love Revlon.

Lesson learned.

3 thoughts on “Stewardship. Buyer’s remorse. Stupidity.

  1. I have so done that before….not taken it back (course it wasn’t $30…for that price, I may have) but regretted a beauty purchase right away. You watch the Bachelorette and Emily? You just moved up a notch on my “cool” ladder :)

Leave a Reply

